The Regions of Italy

Bookmark and Share
Italy is divided in regions, provinces and Comuni

(municipalities). The regions of Italy are 20, with 110 provinces and 8101 Comuni.

Unlike other countres, such as France and United Kingdom just to give you a couple of examples, Italy has become one unified nation only in 1861 and before that time it was divided into many reigns and republics, each one with its own administration, currency, language and many traditions. This explains why, even today, traditions, uses, food, wine, dialects and accents, even natural and architectural landscapes vary greatly from region to region and the inhabitants of each region are very proud of their own traditions.

To me, this is what makes Italy so interesting, because in a relatively small space, from North to South, from East to West, there is something for each taste.

Here is a map with the twenty regions of Italy, so you can orientate yourself when you read about each region. Below it, you'll find all the regions names listed in alphabetical order, with a link to their pages. Click on each name to read more.

Regions of Italy with official names

  • Abruzzo (The Abruzzi)
  • Basilicata
  • Calabria
  • Campania
  • Emilia-Romagna
  • Friuli-Venezia Giulia
  • Lazio (Latium)
  • Liguria
  • Lombardia (Lombardy)
  • Marche (The Marches)
  • Molise
  • Piemonte (Piedmont)
  • Puglia (Apulia)
  • Sardegna (Sardinia)
  • Sicilia (Sicily)
  • Toscana (Tuscany)
  • Trentino-Alto Adige
  • Umbria
  • Valle d’Aosta
  • Veneto

Cerca nel sito

All regions of Italy offer a variety of attractions, from the high snowy mountains where to ski and do other winter sports and admire the landscape, especially along the northern border but also in some areas of the Apennines; cities of art big and small; gastronomical deliciousness with the different typical regional dishes and recipes, local handicrafts through the peninsula, from glasses to jewels, to laces, natural beauties on the mountains, in the countryside, by the seaside.

Fifteen regions of Italy out of twenty, including two islands, are touched by the sea, with about 7500 km (4660 miles) of coasts, therefore there is a huge choice of resorts and sceneries, from the beaches of different sand colours, to the cliffs, those too of different colors. From many regions of Italy there are several maritime connections to other resorts, as well as many navigation companies that organise cruises, around the peninsula and much further.

When you contact these comuni let them know you found them on

Go from Regions of Italy to the Detailed Map of Italy

click analytics